Solomon's Knot

Bach - Motets

According to the British weekly The Observer, Solomon’s Knot is “one of the UK’s most innovative and imaginative ensembles”.  This collective of top instrumentalists and singers also prides itself on bringing early music to life “by pushing the boundaries of what is possible on stage”. These regulars of the world’s great stages and music festivals offer us nothing less than the complete Grands motets by JS Bach, the apotheosis of polyphonic vocal music.Discovery, power and fulfilment!

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Fürchte dich nicht BWV 228
Komm, Jesu, komm BWV 229
Jesu, meine Freude BWV 227
Der Geist hilft unser Schwachheit auf BWV 226
Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied BWV 225

Johann Christoph Bach (1671-1721)
Fürchte dich nicht
Lieber Herr Gott, wecke uns auf
Herr, nun lässest du deinen Diener in Friede fahren
Der Gerechte, ob er gleich zu zeitlich stirbt

Solomon’s Knot, vocal ensemble
Jonathan Sells, artistic director
Zoë Brookshaw, Rebecca Lea, soprani
Kate Symonds-Joy, Nathan Mercieca, alti
Thomas Herford, James Robinson, tenors
Jonathan Sells, Alex Ashworth, basses


Photo credit: Dan Joy

concert info

  • November 29, 2024 19:30
  • St. George Church
  • orchestra
  • singers
  • from 20$ to 90$

the artist's universe

Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop