Produced by : Festival Bach Montréal

Signum Saxophone Quartet

Bach and Beyond


The four musicians met in Cologne where they founded the saxophone quartet SIGNUM in 2006. Inspired by the Ebony Quartet, the Artemis Quartet and Gabor Takács-Nágy, the members of SIGNUM bring forward new ideas and intriguing artistic encounters through experimental versatility in programs with inspiring soundscapes.

David Maslanka (1943-)
Recitation Book pour quatuor de saxophones (extrait)
Meditation on the Gregorian Chant “O Salutaris Hostia” (O Salvation’s Victim)

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Orchestral Suite No. 1 in C-Minor BWV 1066
Transcription for saxophone quartet by SIGNUM

Steve Reich (1936-)
New York Counterpoint
Transcription for saxophone quartet and tape by Susan Fancher

J.S Bach (1685-1750)
Italian Concerto, BWV 971
Transcription for saxophone quartet by Katsuki Tochio

Tomaso Giovanni Albinoni (1671-1735)
Adagio in G minor
Transcription for saxophone quartet by Signum saxophone quartet

David Maslanka (1943-)
Recitation Book for saxophone quartet
Broken Heart: Meditation on the chorale melody “Der du bist drei in Einigkeit” (You who are three in one)
Fanfare/Variations on the choral melody “Durch Adams Fall” (Through Adam’s fall)

AC/DC (Angus Young, Malcolm Young) 
For saxophone quartet arranged by Signum saxophone quartet

Blaž Kemperle, soprano saxophone
Jacopo Taddei, alto saxophone
Alan Lužar, tenor saxophone
Guerino Bellarosa, baryton saxophone

Evening Program

concert info

  • November 22, 2023 19:30
  • St. George Church
  • wind
  • from 20$ to 65$


Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop